Various Artists

Trax Sampler, Vol. 74

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

France's Trax magazine includes a free ten-track disc of music with each issue, most of which should be snapped up whenever possible. Each volume provides an up-to-date summation of underground dance music -- much of it European fare -- along with some nods to the outer fringes of indie rock and cutting-edge rap and R&B. Released in June of 2004, the 74th volume of the series features Miss Kittin's "Soundtrack of Now," Rodney Hunter's "There's a Reason," !!!'s "Pardon My Freedom," Dimitri From Paris' "This Is Your Life," Mike Grant's "Late Night," and Detroit Grand Pubahs' "The Clapper." There's a little too much overly slick house here, but the disc as a whole shouldn't be disregarded.