Various Artists

Trance 2006, Vol. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in the Trance series, from the German label Sunnyside Up, offers two discs of recent trance singles that are mixed anonymously. The focus is obviously on the tracks, rather than the technical skills of the unnamed DJ, but it's almost as if the mixes were programmed by a machine, since each volume contains either 38 or 40 tracks that tend to be aired out for three to four minutes. The tracks themselves tend to take on a similar cranked-out feel; the bulk of them go in one ear and out the other, and despite their functionality (yes, it's easy to dance to them), they don't leave much of an impression. Trance 2006, Vol. 2 includes the Benassi Bros.' "Rocket in the Sky," Yoshimoto's "Du What You Du," Jan Wayne's "Time 2 Fly," and Niels Van Gogh's "My Own Religion."

blue highlight denotes track pick