Various Artists

Town Hall Concert

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

When the legendary Blue Note label was relaunched in the mid-'80s, this concert was part of the celebration. Miles Davis' classic rhythm section (Ron Carter, Tony Williams, and Herbie Hancock) are reassembled here, capturing a shadow of their early brilliance. There are some rough edges, but this is understandable; this was the Blue Note repertory company of the early '60s, not the mid-'80s. Bobby Hutcherson's song "Bouquet" showcases his grace and athleticism on vibraphone. That, coupled with a fresh version of Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island," make this an interesting document.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 10:46
2 11:21
3 8:14
4 7:15
5 7:17
blue highlight denotes track pick