Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners

Too-Rye-Ay [Rarities Edition]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In 2007, Universal Music brought out an expanded Deluxe Edition of Too-Rye-Ay, the breakthrough second album by Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners, to celebrate the 25th anniversary of its original release. The Deluxe Edition was a two-disc set that expanded the original album with a wealth of rare tracks and live recordings; Too-Rye-Ay [Rarities Edition] is a single-disc release that doesn't include the original Too-Rye-Ay album, but offers 22 of the bonus selections that were featured on the Deluxe Edition. Too-Rye-Ay [Rarities Edition] features the same cover painting as the original 1982 album, which may confuse those unfamiliar with the minutia of the band's discography. But for serious fans of the group who haven't been able to find the Deluxe Edition, this is a major prize package, including two non-LP tracks ("Love Part 2" and an alternate version of "Let's Make This Precious"), four numbers from a BBC radio session with David Jensen, two from a live performance at Shaftsbury Avenue, and a full 14 songs from a June 1982 concert in Newcastle recorded by the BBC. This material has long been difficult to find in the United States, so American fans will particularly welcome this chance to catch up with material from the year Kevin Rowland and his bandmates broke worldwide.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:40 Amazon
2 1:17 Amazon
3 4:56 Amazon
4 7:40 Amazon
5 4:14 Amazon
6 4:01 Amazon
7 4:05 Amazon
8 3:16 Amazon
9 6:33 Amazon
10 1:27 Amazon
11 4:05 Amazon
12 3:33 Amazon
13 6:59 Amazon
14 4:27 Amazon
15 2:46 Amazon
16 4:55 Amazon
17 3:25 Amazon
18 2:56 Amazon
19 3:39 Amazon
20 3:04 Amazon
21 3:50 Amazon
22 4:38 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick