Margaret Whiting

Too Marvelous for Words

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Audiophile, one of the George H. Buck, Jr. Jazz Foundation family of record labels, is home to many singers of the great popular songs. When they record for this label, they are usually approaching the tail end of their careers, although their skills have not diminished. While voices may be a little huskier and the higher notes more difficult to reach, these fine singers nonetheless still possess their feel for the music, which has been honed with years of experience. The label provides a valuable service to lovers of this kind of music by not letting some of the finest practitioners of the vocal art fade from public view. Among the many who have found a home here is one of the most beloved singers of popular songs, Margaret Whiting. Too Marvelous for Words is a tribute to her father, Richard Whiting, and to Johnny Mercer. A reissue of material released in 1980, the CD has eight more tracks than the LP and a more resonant sound. Time has been good to Whiting. There's a more mature feel to her voice, replacing that girlish sound that characterized her singing in earlier years. Accompanied by Loonis McGlohon, who has accompanied many of those recording for Audiophile, Whiting does songs written by those whom she met as visitors to her father's home when she was a child, bringing a special intimacy to her performance. The rich vibrancy of her voice, coupled with her masterful delivery techniques, comes through on such familiar tunes as "Sleepy Time Gal" and "I Remember You." These qualities make lesser-known works like "Have You Got Any Castles, Baby?" and "Can't Teach My Old Heart New Tricks" sound better than they should. This reissue is a happy addition to the library of vocal recordings of American classic popular music.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:08 Amazon
2 2:44 Amazon
3 2:51 Amazon
4 2:10
5 2:31 Amazon
6 2:27 Amazon
7 1:58 Amazon
8 2:57 Amazon
9 1:59 Amazon
10 3:02 Amazon
11 3:49 Amazon
12 2:18 Amazon
13 2:13 Amazon
14 2:31 Amazon
15 3:09 Amazon
16 3:15 Amazon
17 2:23 Amazon
18 2:24 Amazon
19 4:21 Amazon
20 3:20 Amazon
21 2:41 Amazon
22 2:16 Amazon
23 2:16 Amazon
24 2:33 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick