Tomorrow's New Dream

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Forty years since their inception, Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick's Incognito continue to forge ahead with Tomorrow's New Dream, closing out a third straight decade in which they have released at least five studio albums of feel-good soul, jazz, and funk. Longtime fans knowledgeable about the group's roots might long for another cover -- the album LP is nothing but originals -- but connections are made with some greats. Phil Perry joins Maysa to lead the crystalline "For the Love of You" (akin to Masterjam-era Rufus & Chaka Khan, not an Isleys update), and Take 6 add their goosebump-raising harmonies to "The Weather Report" (another Incognito tune paying tribute to a band only in title). Past and current group members and a few guests trade off on the rest of the material. Joy Rose opens up the album on "Haze of Summer," an uplifted number that beams like a sequel to Jill Scott's "Golden." Imaani fronts the breezy "Now That I've Found You," one of the finest Earth, Wind & Fire homages. Along with Mario Biondi, they outclass the relative newcomers, but the infectious positive energy never dips, consistent and familiar, somehow never mechanical.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 05:33 Amazon
2 03:40 Amazon
3 04:05 Amazon
4 05:12 Amazon
5 03:48 Amazon
6 01:42 Amazon
7 03:05 Amazon
8 04:37 Amazon
9 04:46 Amazon
10 04:01 Amazon
11 04:53 Amazon
12 01:41 Amazon
13 05:09 Amazon
14 05:33 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick