'Til Morning/A Sinner I Am

Johnnie Ray

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

'Til Morning/A Sinner I Am Review

by John Bush

This Columbia compilation paired 1958's 'Til Morning with the following year's A Sinner I Am, two Johnnie Ray LPs recorded just after he began slipping from the charts. Attempting to reset himself as a vocal pop singer, Ray did as well as anyone in the rock crossover crowd, ranked only by Bobby Darin. The first album is the better date, with the late-night calm of the Billy Taylor Quartet overseeing things while Ray croons a solid, well-chosen set of material ("It All Depends on You," "I'm Confessin'," "They Can't Take That Away from Me," "Day by Day"). The second set has a full orchestra, material at a level slightly below the first, and a more tentative Ray singing "A Hundred Years From Today," "September Song," and "All the Way." Ray never succeeded as an adult-pop singer; as intriguing as his one-of-a-kind voice sounds in this context, it's not surprising.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Johnnie Ray 02:56 Amazon
2 Johnnie Ray 03:03 Amazon
3 Johnnie Ray 02:48 Amazon
4 Johnnie Ray 04:11 Amazon
5 Johnnie Ray 03:35 Amazon
6 Johnnie Ray 03:02 Amazon
7 Johnnie Ray 02:48 Amazon
8 Johnnie Ray 02:45 Amazon
Johnnie Ray 03:02 Amazon
10 Johnnie Ray 03:48 Amazon
11 Johnnie Ray 03:58 Amazon
12 Johnnie Ray 03:29 Amazon
13 Johnnie Ray 02:42 Amazon
14 Johnnie Ray 02:21 Amazon
15 Johnnie Ray 03:22 Amazon
16 Johnnie Ray 04:07 Amazon
17 Johnnie Ray 03:00 Amazon
18 Johnnie Ray 02:03 Amazon
19 Johnnie Ray 02:19 Amazon
20 Johnnie Ray 02:35 Amazon
21 Johnnie Ray 02:34 Amazon
22 Johnnie Ray 03:30 Amazon
23 Johnnie Ray 02:15 Amazon
24 Johnnie Ray 02:21 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick