Tibet: Nada Himalaya, Vol. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Deuter's NADA HIMALAYA 2 features Tibetan prayer bowls. These metal bowls are either struck or rubbed, in a circular fashion, by a mallet. Depending on the technique used, this results in vibrant bell tones or long, sustained drones. When the bowls are rubbed gently, they really sing.

This release follows in the footsteps of NADA HIMALAYA 1, an album that also draws on the music of Tibet. There is little differentiation here between tracks, but this is by design. This music also does not require active listening. NADA HIMALAYA 2 is intended to relax yet awaken the soul, calm yet refresh the mind. If you find yourself falling into a deep reverie or temporarily letting go of your fears and stresses, then Deuter has achieved his goal. He combines the singing bowls with nature effects including dripping water, the buzz of insects, and birdsong. Additionally, he employs high-pitched bells in the beginning of "Kailash." NADA HIMALAYA 2 is the perfect alternative to keyboard-generated meditation/relaxation albums.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 12:26
2 12:25
3 16:53
4 9:05
5 9:14
6 11:17
7 7:06
blue highlight denotes track pick