Three-Way Mirror

Airto Moreira / Flora Purim / Joe Farrell

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Three-Way Mirror Review

by Scott Yanow

Percussionist Airto Moreira, his wife, vocalist Flora Purim, and Joe Farrell (heard on flute, soprano and tenor) had teamed up several times through the years, most notably in the original version of Return to Forever. Farrell passed away just eight months after this album, but is still heard in fine form on the interesting set. Purim has vocals on three of the seven numbers (only "The Return" actually features Flora, Airto, and Farrell playing together); Airto plays as drums as much as percussion, and the music ranges from Brazilian jazz which is slightly poppish to unclassifiable post-bop playing. Among the others musicians in the quartet/quintet settings are guitarist Jose Neto, pianist Kei Akagi, and bassist Mark Egan. An atmospheric and at times haunting effort.

blue highlight denotes track pick