Tube Top

Three Minute Hercules

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Consisting of the Posies former rhythm sectionMike Musburger and Dave Fox, as well as primary songwriters Gavin Guss and Brian Naubert, Tube Top represents a gathering of Seattle power pop veterans. The quartet's debut album, Three Minute Hercules, which contains two tracks produced by R.E.M.'s Peter Buck and was mixed by Posies singer/guitarist Jon Auer, provides 12 refreshing bursts of guitar pop that will please fans of Velvet Crush and Fountains of Wayne. "Passes for Love" captures the spirit that made the former's Teenage Symphonies to God a classic '90s power pop album, while "Erika Smiles" would clearly mesh well among the tracks on the latter's Utopia Parkway. Though Tube Top is probably just a one-album project, tunes such as "Full Bloom" and "If I Were You" will no doubt leave listeners wanting more.

blue highlight denotes track pick