There Is Nothing New Under the Sun [Bonus Tracks]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Either a lengthy EP or a short full-length depending on how you look at it, this CD consists entirely of Led Zeppelin covers, reverently done yet not likely to be mistaken for the originals. The first five songs are played hard and heavy in Coalesce's pummeling metalcore style, peaking with a ferocious version of "Black Dog," spiced up with some of the band's trademark math metal rhythms. Frontman Sean Ingram handles the lead vocals in his typically caustic, bellowing roar, with Matt Pryor from emo-pop band the Get Up Kids chiming in on the melodic sections in his regular voice -- in other words, no Robert Plant impersonations here! The CD closes with two acoustic guitar-based ballads, "That's the Way" and "Thank You," giving some idea of what Zeppelin might have sounded like as sensitive Middle American post-adolescents. The vocals, done completely clean, are a little shaky on these tunes and sometimes veer off key, but somehow they work in this context. Led Zeppelin fans might be horrified at the liberties Coalesce takes here, but ultimately the band has succeeded at breathing new life into some heavily worn (though still classic) songs. (Coalesce listeners, on the other hand, will note this album as a precursor to the subsequent 0:12 Revolution in Just Listening, which also has its share of heavy blues-based rock grooves.) In any case, this is a fun disc, and one meant to be played loud.

blue highlight denotes track pick