George Masso

The Wonderful World of George Gershwin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For the initial release on the German Nagel-Heyer label, trombonist George Masso heads an all-star mainstream septet that also includes clarinetist Kenny Davern, trumpeter Randy Sandke, the fine Engligh tenor Danny Moss, pianist Eddie Higgins, bassist Len Skeat and drummer Jake Hanna. Together they jam on eight George Gershwin songs plus Higgins plays a "Porgy and Bess Medley." Although the liner notes (unlike later releases) are in German, the music easily comunicates; highlights include a blazing "Strike Up the Band," "Soon," and 11-1/2-minute versions of "Somebody Loves Me" and "S'Wonderful."

blue highlight denotes track pick