The Chieftains

The Wide World Over: A 40 Year Celebration

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In the Chieftains' four decades of recording, they've changed labels a handful of times, and each label has seen fit to record at least one or two collections of the band's output under their tenure. At this point they have so many best-ofs and greatest-hits compilations, it's tough for the listener to know the best of what they're actually hearing. New millennium -- new collection: the band's longtime label, RCA Victor, has done the Celtic community a favor by releasing a collection that deals more with the band's journey through their different phases as opposed to trying to reassemble a hits package. The end result is almost like listening to a radio station that only plays Chieftains songs. There are some live tracks, their countrified romp through "Cotton-Eyed Joe"; Van Morrison's adult-contemporary "Shenandoah"; an unusual introduction of the bandmembers in Chinese; appearances from Sting, Diana Krall, and Art Garfunkel; and a couple of new recordings. The breezy cover of "Morning Has Broken" fares better than the hybridized "Redemption Song" (in fact, it's a challenge to think of any instances of a successful Celtic/reggae alloy). The album will be enjoyed by Chieftains fans as a fun collection of songs they have never heard back-to-back before, and those looking for a greatest-hits collection will have plenty of other places to look.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:25 Amazon
2 5:01 SpotifyAmazon
feat: The Corrs
3:27 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Ricky Skaggs
2:45 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:57 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:21 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Van Morrison
3:52 SpotifyAmazon
8 6:12 Amazon
9 2:55 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:57 Amazon
feat: Sting
12 3:02 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:31 Amazon
14 3:24 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:03 SpotifyAmazon
16 4:11 SpotifyAmazon
17 3:20 SpotifyAmazon
18 4:17 SpotifyAmazon
feat: Ziggy Marley
4:22 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick