The Weird Tapes No. 1: Dave Brock, Sonic Assassins

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This CD is the reissue of an obscure mid-'80s limited edition cassette (heavily remastered and sporting Marvel comics-inspired artwork). The Weird Tapes No. 1: Dave Brock, Sonic Assassins is comprised of three different recordings from circa 1977-1978. The bulk of the material comes from a December 24, 1977, show by the short-lived Sonic Assassins (one of Hawkwind's transformations that led to the name change to the Hawklords): Bob Calvert, Dave Brock, Harvey Bainbridge, Paul Hayles, and Martin Griffin. This set includes solid versions of "Death Trap" and "Free Fall" (both subsequently appearing on LPs released in 1978). There is also a version of the Pink Floyd-esque "Who's Gonna Win the War" billed to Hawkwind (recording date unknown) with the same lineup minus Hayles and plus Steve Swindells. The album is rounded out with five studio tracks by Dave Brock, recorded for a 1978 solo album that never materialized. Relying heavily on synthesizers, these have little to offer, except for "Assassination." The sound quality is quite good, except for the poorly recorded Hawkwind track. Hardcore fans will find the Brock cuts interesting and the Sonic Assassins set is very strong, but there are better CDs in the Weird Tapes series.

blue highlight denotes track pick