Various Artists

The Very Best of the King/Federal/Deluxe Years, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Very Best of the King/Federal/Deluxe Years, Vol. 1 Review

by Tim Sendra

This is the real deal. Raw and ready to rock, all the artists compiled here put the pedal all the way to the metal and let it rock. And when they aren't rocking, they are tearing your heart out with a sobbing ballad. Kicking off with the original version of "The Twist" by Hank Ballard and the Midnighters and ending an hour later with the Drivers' rock-boppin' "Smooth, Slow and Easy," there is not a single weak track to be found. Big names like Billy Ward & the Dominoes, the Platters, Wynonie Harris, and Percy Mayfield leave no doubt why they are big names, and the no-names like Pete "Guitar" Lewis and Lil Greenwood don't let down the side one bit. Classic tracks include Freddie King's landmark "Hide Away," the Swallows' slightly nasty "It Ain't the Meat, It's the Motion," and Rudy Ray Moore's "Step It Up and Go." If you are a fan of early R&B, you must own this record. It's that good.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Hank Ballard & the Midnighters 02:36 Amazon
2 Freddie King 02:37 Amazon
3 Wynonie Harris 02:32 Amazon
4 The Swallows 02:34 Amazon
5 Jack William Dupree 02:56 Amazon
6 Tiny Bradshaw 02:30 Amazon
7 Ivory Joe Hunter 02:50 Amazon
8 The Royals 02:13 Amazon
9 Johnny "Guitar" Watson 03:11 Amazon
Sonny Thompson 05:37 Amazon
11 Billy Ward 03:06 Amazon
12 Dave Bartholomew 02:14 Amazon
13 The Platters 02:44 Amazon
14 Lil Greenwood 02:49 Amazon
15 Lula Reed 02:08 Amazon
16 Lonnie Johnson 02:37 Amazon
17 The Lamplighters 02:27 Amazon
18 Little Willie Littlefield 02:27 Amazon
19 The Five Keys 02:35 Amazon
20 The Swallows 02:34 Amazon
Pete "Guitar" Lewis 02:19 Amazon
22 Percy Mayfield 02:36 Amazon
23 Rudy Ray Moore 02:23 Amazon
24 Pigmeat Peterson 02:26 Amazon
Drivers 02:12 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick