Freddie Mercury

The Very Best of Freddie Mercury Solo: Lover of Life, Singer of Songs

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released on what would have been the legendary Queen frontman's 60th birthday, EMI's Lover of Life, Singer of Songs collects 20 digitally remastered tracks from the late vocalist's eccentric solo career, including pre-Queen singles, soundtrack offerings, and cuts from his two official solo releases (1985's Mr. Bad Guy and 1988's Barcelona). This is good news for fans who were unwilling to dip into their savings to pick up Parlophone' s mammoth ten-disc Solo Collection, as it utilizes the majority of that collection's strengths. For the most part, this is all anyone could want from a non-Queen Mercury overview, and despite the inclusion of a few too many posthumous remixes, serves as moving eulogy to one of popular music's most beloved voices. [Lover of Life, Singer of Songs also comes in a two-disc edition, as well as a CD/DVD package.]

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:55
2 3:27 Spotify
3 3:38 SpotifyAmazon
4 4:05 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:29 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:00 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:50 Spotify
8 3:51 Spotify
9 3:36
10 3:56 Spotify
11 5:40 Spotify
12 3:47 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:40 SpotifyAmazon
14 6:06 Spotify
15 4:12 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:39 Spotify
17 3:39 SpotifyAmazon
18 3:28 SpotifyAmazon
19 3:34 Spotify
feat: Thierry Lang
4:18 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick