Various Artists

The Very Best of Euphoric Dance: Breakdown 2010

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Very Best of Euphoric Dance: Breakdown 2010 is another in the ongoing series of Breakdown multi-disc mix albums released by the Ministry of Sound label. Fans of previous volumes know more or less what to expect, as some discs in the package are devoted to contemporary material and others to classic material. In the case of Breakdown 2010, the first of three discs includes contemporary dance hits and gets off to a promising start with a trio of hot tracks including Sidney Samson's "Riverside (Let's Go)," Example's "Won't Go Quietly," and Sub Focus' "Could This Be Real." Other highlights of the first disc include Calvin Harris' "I'm Not Alone," Dizzee Rascal and Armand Van Helden's "Bonkers," and Armand Van Helden and A-Trak's "ANYway." With the exception of these aforementioned highlights, most of the selections on disc one are remixes rather than the original versions. This is always something to note carefully on these Ministry of Sound compilations. The second disc is comprised of trance anthems from yesteryear. Highlights include Sash!'s "Adelante" from 1999, Angel City's "Sunrise" from 2004, and Agnelli & Nelson's "Embrace" from 2000. The third disc is likewise comprised of classic material, in this case house classics. There are a bounty of highlights on this third disc, among them Snap!'s "The Power" from 1990, Basement Jaxx's "Jump 'N' Shout" from 1999, and Freemasons and Amanda Wilson's "Love on My Mind" from 2005. While it's a long way from Calvin Harris to Snap!, not only in time but also in terms of style, the broad range of material on this 60-track mix album is a significant part of its appeal, as there's a bit of something for everyone here.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:52
2 3:33
3 4:03
4 3:55
5 3:30
7 4:09
8 4:13
9 3:06
10 4:43
12 3:28
13 3:06
14 3:13
15 4:42
16 2:58
17 4:28
18 2:29
19 3:10
blue highlight denotes track pick