Dick Haymes

The Very Best of Dick Haymes, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

"Faultless" would be a good word to describe this 20-song compilation, which contains every one of Dick Haymes' Top 20 hits from the start of his solo career in 1943 to the fall of 1945, a period when he was one of the most successful recording artists in the U.S. His biggest hit of the period was the gold-selling chart-topper "You'll Never Know," but he also waxed the most popular versions of the Top Ten hits "It Can't Be Wrong," "In My Arms," "Put Your Arms Around Me, Honey (I Never Knew Any Girl Like You)," "I Wish I Knew" and "The More I See You" (the last two from the film Billy Rose's Diamond Horseshoe, in which he starred), and a clutch of duets with Helen Forrest including "Long Ago (And Far Away)," "Together," "I'll Buy That Dream" and "Some Sunday Morning." All are included here in their original Decca recordings. Due to the musicians union recording ban, the first eight tracks were recorded a cappella with a vocal chorus, but with any backing Haymes' smooth voice delivers the songs' romantic sentiments beautifully. There are excellent liner notes by Joseph F. Laredo. Volume 2 is also recommended.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:16
2 2:48
3 2:45
4 2:52
5 3:10
6 2:57
7 2:42
8 2:41
9 3:18
10 3:05
11 3:09
12 3:05
13 3:06
14 3:02
15 3:07
16 2:58
17 2:35
18 3:03
19 2:44
20 2:50
blue highlight denotes track pick