Lowell Fulson

The Tramp Years

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first of a planned series of three compilations devoted to Fulson's '60s Kent sides, this focuses on the chronological middle (and commercial peak) of his Kent output. "Tramp" itself, possibly Fulson's most well-known song (certainly to the pop and soul audience), leads off the disc, whose 24 tracks span 1966 to 1969. Much of the material shows Fulson to be one of the masters of blues-soul crossover (and one of the first to explore that sub-genre), his work the equal of somewhat more renowned artists working the field, like B.B. King, Albert King, and Little Milton. There's a loose and lean feel that sets this off -- in a good way -- from the beefier, more disciplined blues-soul outings recorded by Stax and some other labels. Possibly because this series is so thorough in its coverage, the material is not always top of the line; some of the outings are routine, going through the blues motions in songwriting if not performance. Still, more often than not this is a pleasure, both for Fulson's relaxed vocals and his contrasting stinging, fluid guitar licks. Half of the dozen of the tracks are previously unissued, including "It Takes Money," a song recorded right after "Tramp"; Fulson expressed annoyance in interviews that Kent withheld this from release. As another bonus for the committed collector, four songs ("I'm Sinking," "Blues Pain," "What the Heck," and "Price for Love") are presented in extended versions from their original issue.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:08 Spotify
2 4:06 Spotify
3 3:24 Spotify
4 2:40 Spotify
5 3:08 Spotify
6 2:47 Spotify
7 3:29 Spotify
8 3:13 Spotify
9 2:46 Spotify
10 2:24 Spotify
11 2:36 Spotify
12 2:06 Spotify
13 2:57 Spotify
14 2:44 Spotify
15 2:48 Spotify
16 2:42 Spotify
17 2:32 Spotify
18 5:20 Spotify
19 3:37 Spotify
20 3:10 Spotify
21 2:48 Spotify
22 4:15 Spotify
23 2:34 Spotify
24 2:57 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick