Eddie Condon

The Town Hall Concerts, Vol. 8

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The eighth double CD in this essential series has four more half-hour shows that were billed as The Eddie Condon Town Hall Concerts. Condon, who was always more important as an instigator than as a guitarist, was a perfect host for the program, not only offering witty and sometimes sarcastic commentary but designing the shows so all of the all-stars were properly featured, both individually and collectively. The eighth volume has the usual incredible roster: trumpeters Billy Butterfield, Bobby Hackett, Max Kaminsky and Wingy Manone, trombonists Tommy Dorsey, Benny Morton and Jack Teagarden, Sidney Bechet on soprano, baritonist Ernie Caceres, clarinetist Pee Wee Russell, pianists Dick Cary, Gene Schroeder and Jess Stacy, bassists Bob Casey, Jack Lesberg and Sid Weiss, drummers Johnny Blowers and George Wettling and vocalist Lee Wiley. As usual there are dozens of highlights from these spontaneous yet logical jam sessions, easily recommended to Dixieland and Chicago jazz fans.

blue highlight denotes track pick