The Sun Story Sampler

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Sun Story Sampler Review

by Bradley Torreano

Acting as an example of the various re-releases and collections that have come out featuring music from Sun Records, The Sun Story Sampler is a great album, pure and simple. Featuring excellent songs from some of the most important early figures in rock and country music, this is a treat for any rockabilly fan. Especially impressive are Johnny Cash's eternally brilliant "I Walk the Line," Carl Perkins' energetic, pre-Elvis take on "Blue Suede Shoes," Billy Lee Riley's rollicking "Red Hot," and Jerry Lee Lewis' absolute classic "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On." Anyone interested in discovering these artists or hearing more Sun material should give this a try; it is a very good album featuring many of these artists at their artistic peak.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Little Junior's Blue Flames 03:03 SpotifyAmazon
2 Little Milton 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
3 Carl Perkins 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
4 Charlie Feathers 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
5 Carl Perkins 02:18 SpotifyAmazon
6 Rosco Gordon 02:45 SpotifyAmazon
7 Warren Smith 02:54 SpotifyAmazon
8 Johnny Cash 02:46 SpotifyAmazon
9 Roy Orbison 02:16 SpotifyAmazon
10 Malcolm Yelvington 02:25 SpotifyAmazon
11 Sonny Burgess 02:11 SpotifyAmazon
12 Roy Orbison 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
13 Billy Lee Riley 02:06 SpotifyAmazon
14 Ernie Chaffin 02:37 SpotifyAmazon
15 Sonny Burgess 02:11 SpotifyAmazon
16 Jerry Lee Lewis 02:56 SpotifyAmazon
17 Warren Smith 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
18 Billy Lee Riley 02:34 SpotifyAmazon
19 Johnny Cash 02:14 SpotifyAmazon
20 Ray Smith 02:27 SpotifyAmazon
21 Carl Mann 02:31 SpotifyAmazon
22 Carl Mann 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
23 Charlie Rich 02:11 SpotifyAmazon
24 Charlie Rich 02:27 SpotifyAmazon
25 Jerry Lee Lewis 02:17 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick