The Sonic Groove Releases, Pt. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Canadian duo Orphx began releasing experimental industrial cassettes in the early '90s, but their gradual migration toward techno rhythms made them one of the leading figures of the rhythmic noise genre. Their signing with Adam X's Sonic Groove label in 2009 solidified their reputation within the techno scene as well as the industrial scene, and they headlined shows and festivals with the likes of Frankie Bones and Marcel Dettmann. Hymen Records, which released the duo's Circuitbreaking album in 2004, compiled the group's Sonic Groove EPs for CD release, and Pt. 2 contains all of the tracks from Hunger Knows No Law (2012), Boundary Conditions (2013), and Sacrifice (2014), plus an unreleased track from the Hunger Knows No Law sessions. Opening track "Cut Through" marries abrasive noise and driving rhythms, but it's not nearly as harsh as older Orphx releases like the hair-raising Nullity EP from 1998. "Devourer" sidesteps 4/4 beats for more creative beat patterns, occasionally dipping into a dubstep-like half-time beat, and covering it with swarms of distortion. "Outcast" blends paranoid bleeps with crunchy electronic percussion, pretty much nailing the intersection between industrial and techno. "What Will Burn" features an EBM-like melody along with a droning quality similar to Aphex Twin's "Didgeridoo." Bonus track "Hungry Ghosts" initially seems barren and isolated, with crackling rhythmic pulses and ominous synths, but it gradually builds until the pounding beats take over. The collection expertly demonstrates Orphx's proficiency in creating experimental yet dancefloor-accessible tracks.

blue highlight denotes track pick