Ryuichi Sakamoto

The Sheltering Sky [Original Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A varied soundtrack album that manages to weave in a little variation from the traditional type of motion picture scoring indulged in here by Sakamoto. Part of the reason for the variation is that only twelve of the album's 21 tracks are by Sakamoto -- several are source music, others were composed by Richard Horowitz. The diversity thus makes for a more interesting album than might have been had from variations on the main minor-key "Sheltering Sky" theme (presented here in orchestrated and piano-based versions.) It also breaks away from the sound of Sakamoto's recordings, strong material that suffers from a certain digital harshness in the strings.

Horowitz' part in this is in stepping away from traditional Western scoring and using Middle Eastern elements for score structures -- something that's very effective indeed on "Fever Ride" with its blend of Moroccan and Spanish elements. Where Sakamoto easily sketches panorama with his music, Horowitz sketches in mystery. The local source music, too, adds to this, giving the album a grounding in the real world that completes the overall structure. An excellent album that can easily be recommended for more than just soundtrack aficionados.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
The Koran
1 00:43
The Sheltering Sky, film score
2 05:19
3 01:27
4 01:23
5 01:38
6 01:30
7 06:12
8 01:04
9 01:27
10 03:31
11 01:42
12 02:06
13 04:20
14 02:45
15 03:18
16 03:51
17 00:45
18 03:03
19 05:48
20 01:43
21 01:57
blue highlight denotes track pick