Larry Ochs

The Secret Magritte

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is difficult music to discuss in mere words due to the wide variety of sounds and colors created by the all-star ensemble. Larry Ochs divided the nonet into three main voices: Rova (the reeds of Ochs, Bruce Ackley, Steve Adams and Jon Raskin), the two basses (Lisle Ellis and Barry Guy) and a trio comprised of two pianos (Marilyn Crispell and Chris Brown) and vibes (William Winant). Because he was inspired by the paintings of Belgian artist Henri Magritte, Ochs named this five-part work after him. The frameworks for the musicians (which are duplicated in the liner notes) feature short notated parts and instructions on when to play. The music is very abstract but makes expert use of space and dynamics. Those listeners who prefer strong melodies and chordal improvisation are advised to search elsewhere. However the interplay by the two bassists in particular borders on the miraculous and is a key reason for the open-eared to acquire this disc.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 23:09 Spotify
2 13:08 Spotify
3 20:20 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick