Charlie Byrd / Great Guitars

The Return of the Great Guitars

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first recording by the Great Guitars in over a decade has a change in personnel. A serious stroke had ended Barney Kessel's career, but Herb Ellis and Charlie Byrd were still very much active. Fellow veteran guitarist Mundell Lowe took Kessel's place, and as a wild card, on eight of the 13 selections the versatile Larry Coryell is heard on fourth guitar. With fine backup by bassist John Goldsby and drummer Tim Horner, the guitarists swing hard on a variety of bop and swing-oriented tunes including "Things Ain't What They Used to Be," "A Smooth One," "The Lady in Red," and "Seven Come Eleven," in addition to some more recent originals.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:50 Spotify
2 04:13 Spotify
3 04:27 Spotify
4 05:11 Spotify
5 04:22 Spotify
6 03:49 Spotify
7 04:23 Spotify
8 04:42 Spotify
9 04:29 Spotify
10 04:34 Spotify
11 04:27 Spotify
12 04:32 Spotify
13 04:44 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick