Kenneth Alwyn

The Red Shoes Ballet: Classic British Film Music

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This assembly of new recordings of classic British film scores was vitally needed at the time of its release in the early '90s. British cinema from 1936 onward was the beneficiary of much inspired film music, some of it occasionally the work of major national and international composers but, amazingly, little of it survived in any extant form during the LP era (apart from the scattered efforts of isolated figures such as Bernard Herrmann). This disc was a major step in redressing the issue -- in addition to presenting Brian Easdale's complete ballet from Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger's The Red Shoes (which was arguably the finest ballet music ever written for a film), it also contained the suite from Ralph Vaughan Williams' music for the documentary Coastal Command (thus restoring a significant composition by a major international composer to the catalog). Sir Arthur Bliss' score for Conquest of the Air works well in combination with the Vaughan Williams piece, and "Attack and Celebration," from Attack on the Iron Coast, fills up the CD to requisite length.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:23
2 1:31
3 2:46
4 1:37
5 2:13
6 4:15
7 3:28
8 3:56
9 15:00
10 7:20
11 1:25
12 2:47
13 1:50
14 2:58
15 1:13
16 2:08
blue highlight denotes track pick