Dizzy Gillespie

The Quintessence: New York - Chicago 1940-1947

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Quintessence New York - Chicago: 1940-1947 captures a number of gems recorded by Dizzy Gillespie between 1940 and 1947. These 36 tracks include such bebop classics as "Groovin' High," "Dizzy Atmosphere," "Salt Peanuts," "Hot House," and "Confirmation." While the Frémeaux & Associés releases are recommended to casual fans, it would be easier to locate The Complete RCA Victor Recordings: 1937-1949 on Bluebird/RCA.

blue highlight denotes track pick