Abrasive Wheels

The Punk Singles Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Leeds' Abrasive Wheels were never much more than a creative afterthought in the annals of Oi!, but they did kick out a handful of genuine belt-along classics -- all of which are served up here. Their debut single "The Army Song," the B-side "Burn 'Em Down" and the EP leader "Vicious Circle" truly capture the quartet at their brutal singalong best, although their weaknesses are already showing -- too much of the Wheels' output was simply an excuse to do some shouting and, while that certainly worked well in concert, on disc it does grow a little wearing. But not as wearing as the band's later output, as a cover of "Jailhouse Rock" sees the band drop the street smarts and turn all hard rock on us, and then maintain that direction till the end of their days. The Wheels broke up in 1984, 15 songs after this collection kicked off. You'll probably be hitting the mute button long before then.

blue highlight denotes track pick