Wolfgang Muthspiel Trio

The Promise

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On this early release, guitarist Wolfgang Muthspiel leads an all-star band with Bob Berg on tenor, Richie Beirach on piano, John Patitucci on bass, and Peter Erskine on drums (the producer is Gary Burton). Cultivating a sound and attack that's somewhere between John Abercrombie and Pat Metheny, Muthspiel acquits himself well and offers engaging originals, as well as a trio cover of "My Funny Valentine" with a highly impressive cadenza.

blue highlight denotes track pick