The Oscar Peterson Big 4 in Japan '82

Oscar Peterson

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Oscar Peterson Big 4 in Japan '82 Review

by Scott Yanow

For this two-LP set, pianist Oscar Peterson teams up with guitarist Joe Pass, bassist Niels Pedersen and drummer Martin Drew for a strong program comprised of 11 standards, six Peterson originals and Pedersen's "Future Child." The music is essentially straightahead bop with some impressionistic moments and with the rapid pieces being outnumbered by the sensitive ballads. Highlights include "'Round Midnight," "Move," "Nigerian Marketplace" and a medley of Peterson's "Hymn to Freedom" and "The Fallen Warrior."