The Morning After: A Musical Love Journey

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Conceived as a musical journey of love, Najee's 2013 album, The Morning After, finds the sweet-toned, smooth jazz saxophonist delivering a set of songs that bring you along on a sensual and romantic road trip. The album follows up Najee's equally as passionate 2012 release, The Smooth Side of Soul. Along with a bevy of superb studio musicians, Najee is backed here by a capable rhythm section featuring keyboardist Demonte Posey, guitarist Ray Fuller, bassist Bill Sharpe, and drummer Daniel "dpondrums" Powell. Also featured is vocalist Meli'sa Morgan, who adds her warm and throaty vocal presence to the intimate R&B-infused track "In the Mood to Take It Slow." Elsewhere on The Morning After, Najee delves into the buoyant, streamlined jazz funk of "Rendezvous," the smooth jazz noir of "Paseo Nuevo," and the sparkling, groove-oriented "Trip to the Moon." Those tracks, as with all of the songs on The Morning After, are supremely romantic, soulful songs that straddle the line between contemporary R&B, instrumental jazz, and pop.

blue highlight denotes track pick