Alan Silvestri

The Mexican [Music from the Motion Picture]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Mexican is a genre-crossing film, described in a press release as "a quirky romantic action-comedy," which would seem to provide composer Alan Silvestri with many choices of how to approach the score. He has taken direction largely from the title and the setting, however, turning out music full of bullfight trumpet motifs and strummed Spanish guitars, with the occasional orchestral flourish to mark an important plot point, such as the disturbing "Frank's Dead." This soundtrack album contains five pop songs from different eras that no doubt make sense within the context of the film (at least as source music), though they have no obvious connection to each other: Nancy Sinatra's "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'," War's "Why Can't We Be Friends," Dean Martin's "You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You," Men Without Hats' "Safety Dance," and Esquivel's "El Cable." They take up about a third of the album, with the rest devoted to Silvestri's usually short musical cues. The obvious precursor of the composer's approach is Hugo Montenegro's music for Clint Eastwood's spaghetti Westerns of the 1960s like The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. This music is not as distinctive as that, but the clichés are probably appropriate to the film's style.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 00:52 Amazon
2 00:58 Amazon
01:34 Amazon
4 02:43
5 01:10 Amazon
6 01:40 Amazon
feat: War & Peace
8 01:31 Amazon
9 02:51 Amazon
feat: Dean Martin
01:59 Amazon
11 01:27 Amazon
12 02:14 Amazon
13 02:21 Amazon
14 04:34 Amazon
feat: Esquivel
02:19 Amazon
16 01:03 Amazon
17 01:01 Amazon
18 01:11 Amazon
19 01:16 Amazon
20 03:24 Amazon
21 01:33 Amazon
22 02:28 Amazon
23 05:02 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick