Ohio Players

The Mercury Years 1974-1978

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Mercury Years 1974-1978, issued in Japan through Universal, contains all seven Ohio Players studio albums from the period: the number one R&B albums Skin Tight (1974), Fire (1974), Honey (1975), and Contradiction (1976), as well as Angel (1977), Mr. Mean (1977), and Jass-Ay-Lay-Dee (1978). The quality of the band's recordings steeply declined after Contradiction, but even the later releases feature at least a couple hot songs. For those who were outside Japan, this cost a small fortune as a new release. It's a sharp box set with each of the discs packaged in a high-quality LP-replica sleeve.

blue highlight denotes track pick