Alexandre Desplat

The Luzhin Defence (Original Film Soundtrack)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Director Marleen Gorris' The Luzhin Defence is a tale of illicit and tragic love set against an international chess match played at the Italian Lakes in the late '20s. Thus, composer Alexandre Desplat, conducting the London Symphony Orchestra, had the task of providing musical accompaniment to two kinds of conflict: romantic and intellectual. He does so with a score that alternates between lush sections full of long melodic lines and sharp passages of quickly played, percussive notes. On the one hand, his music is full of feeling; on the other, it seems meant to accompany complicated analysis. On a soundtrack album, that makes for sounds that can be soothing one moment, stimulating the next. Despite the dichotomy, the music is of a piece, except for the intrusion of "Waltz No. 2 From Jazz Suite No. 2" by Dimitri Shostakovich (played by the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and conducted by Paul Bateman), which for some reason appears twice on the album.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
The Luzhin Defence, film score
1 03:05 Amazon
2 02:18 Amazon
3 01:26 Amazon
4 05:22 Amazon
5 02:25 Amazon
6 02:28 Amazon
7 03:43 Amazon
8 02:53 Amazon
Suite for Jazz Orchestra No. 2
9 03:52 Amazon
The Luzhin Defence, film score
10 04:44 Amazon
11 03:47 Amazon
12 03:13 Amazon
13 03:22 Amazon
14 01:45 Amazon
15 04:18 Amazon
16 03:25 Amazon
Suite for Jazz Orchestra No. 2
17 03:53
blue highlight denotes track pick