Prince & the New Power Generation / Prince

The Love Symbol Album

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The New Power Generation is the most talented and versatile band Prince has ever fronted, and they fulfill their potential on The Love Symbol Album. Although the NPG factored heavily on Diamonds and Pearls, it still sounded like a solo Prince album. Symbol sounds like a band performing together, working off of each other's strengths and weaknesses. Opening with the dance smash "My Name Is Prince" and the deep funk of "Sexy M.F.," The Love Symbol Album has Prince's best dance tracks since The Black Album. But Prince wasn't content; he decided to run the gamut of modern pop/R&B/dance, and the music is uniformly accomplished and excellent. Unfortunately, he also decided to make a "rock soap opera," so the music is saddled with ridiculous lyrics and annoying sound bridges by Kirstie Alley. However, The Love Symbol Album has some of the finest, most inventive music of Prince's career.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 06:25 Amazon
2 05:25 Amazon
3 05:46 Amazon
4 03:57 Amazon
5 04:31 Amazon
6 00:21 Amazon
7 04:38 Amazon
8 03:51 Amazon
9 04:01 Amazon
10 05:31 Amazon
11 04:04 Amazon
12 01:33 Amazon
13 02:27 Amazon
05:09 Amazon
15 03:18 Amazon
16 06:03 Amazon
17 01:30 Amazon
18 05:42 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick