Various Artists

The Liszt Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In commemoration of the 200th anniversary of Franz Liszt's birth, Deutsche Grammophon has assembled a limited-edition, 34-CD collection, housed in a sturdy cubic package that many collectors will covet for its impressive appearance. But this comprehensive set is really aimed at serious Liszt aficionados who appreciate the diverse ways of playing this arch-Romantic's passionate music. With pianists such as Claudio Arrau, Daniel Barenboim, Jorge Bolet, Alice Sara Ott, Roberto Szidon, Krystian Zimerman, among several others, and conductors such as Bernard Haitink, Herbert von Karajan, Seiji Ozawa, Giuseppe Sinopoli, and Georg Solti, the world-class performances have been taken from the label's deep backlist and can be guaranteed for quality interpretations and masterful playing. Some of the world's great orchestras are here, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Budapest Festival Orchestra, and the London Symphony Orchestra, so Liszt's piano concertos and major orchestral compositions are as splendidly performed as his solo keyboard music, choral works, and lieder. The recordings date from 1960 to 1998, so there is a mix of first-rate analog and exceptional digital reproduction, so collectors will find the variances in sound quality to be minor.

Track Listing - Disc 4

Title/Composer Performer Time
A Symphony to Dante's "Divine Comedy", S 109
1 21:27
2 23:01
3 8:03

Track Listing - Disc 32

Title/Composer Performer Time
Missa solemnis, S 9
1 7:46
2 14:01
3 18:05
4 6:00
5 7:04
6 8:39
blue highlight denotes track pick