Jelly Roll Morton

The Library of Congress Recordings, Vol. 8

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The final of eight LPs taken from Jelly Roll Morton's discussions with Alan Lomax for the Library of Congress is dominated by his famous "Discourse on Jazz" on which he covers many topics. In addition this set includes several of his solos which feature "the Spanish tinge" that the pianist-composer considered an essential part of his music. All eight volumes in this important series have their unique moments and are worth hearing.