Patsy Cline

The Legendary

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Pair Records' LEGENDARY PATSY CLINE is similar to Special Music's CD of the same name, with the addition of eight more tracks. Both are good collections, drawn from the first part of Cline's career (the 1955-1960 Four Star period) and emphasizing the harder-edged side of her work with Owen Bradley. Whether it was intentional or not, it's cool to have a compilation that sidesteps the more overtly pop material in favor of the honky-tonk, rockabilly, and R&B-inspired tracks from this period.

This version, as opposed to the Special Music offering, features more honky-tonk, with "I've Loved And Lost Again," the rock & roll "Just Moving Along," a handful of R&B-influenced cuts ("Don't Ever Leave Me," "In Care of the Blues," and "Today, Tomorrow and Forever"), the crooner "Cry Not For Me," and the uncategorizable "Come on In" (a gospel message told with mariachi horns over a square dance beat). Both CDs include the Western swing of "Turn the Cards Slowly," the rockabilly tunes "Love Me, Love Honey Do" and "Stop Look And Listen," and the classic "Walkin' After Midnight."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 02:15
2 02:21
3 02:32
4 02:04
5 02:10
6 02:21
7 02:28
8 02:08
9 02:03
10 02:32
11 02:29
12 02:36
13 02:28
14 02:26
15 02:26
16 02:28
17 01:51
18 02:19
19 02:21
20 02:23
blue highlight denotes track pick