Lanny Morgan

The Lanny Morgan Quartet

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Lanny Morgan Quartet Review

by Scott Yanow

Altoist Lanny Morgan, despite being a very talented bop-based improviser and a greatly in-demand sideman, has had relatively few opportunities to record as a leader through the years -- only two. This quartet set with pianist Tom Ranier, bassist Bob Maize, and drummer Frankie Capp is his definitive recording. Morgan is in particularly creative and fiery form on such songs as "Subconscious Lee," "Bloomdido," "After You've Gone," and a song he practically owns, "Cherokee." None of the nine tunes (eight jazz standards plus Tom Garvin's "Flash") are throwaways and this is a CD highly recommended to bop fans.

blue highlight denotes track pick