Lester Young

The Kansas City Sessions

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is a CD overflowing with classic performances. The great Lester Young is heard with the 1938 version of the Kansas City Six, a group also including trumpeter Buck Clayton (in prime form), Eddie Durham on electric guitar (where he preceded Charlie Christian) and trombone, the rhythm guitar of Freddie Green, bassist Walter Page, and drummer Jo Jones. The four selections (all of which are joined by an alternate take apiece) are most notable for Young's switching to clarinet on some of the pieces. His clarinet solo on "I Want a Little Girl" sounds eerily like Paul Desmond's alto of 15 years later. These classic cool jazz performances have delightful interplay between the two horns. The second part of the reissue features the 1944 Kansas City Six in which Young (sticking to tenor) and trumpeter Bill Coleman are joined by a three-piece rhythm section and trombonist Dickie Wells. Wells, who takes some very colorful and nearly riotous solos, rarely sounded better, and the four selections are highlighted by three equally rewarding versions of "I Got Rhythm" and two of "Three Little Words." The CD concludes with the four titles by 1938's Kansas City Five, which was essentially the early Kansas City Six without Young. Clayton is once again in top form, and Durham's guitar solos were among the first worthwhile examples of the electric guitar on record. This gem is highly recommended for all jazz collections.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:02 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:00 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:03 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:01 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:59 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:01 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:56 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:57 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:59 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:57 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:22 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:54 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:19 SpotifyAmazon
14 3:17 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:18 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:18 SpotifyAmazon
17 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
18 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
19 3:07 SpotifyAmazon
20 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
21 3:06 SpotifyAmazon
22 2:47 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick