Benny Carter / Lena Horne / Louis Armstrong

The Jubilee Shows, Vol. 6: Nos. 19 & 20

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

During 1942-1950, the Jubilee radio series was a regular feature on Armed Forces Radio and was aimed mostly at African-American servicemen during its first few years. The shows typically had the jive talking Ernie "Bubbles" Whitman as the host, featured one jazz band, and had spots for a vocalist, an occasional comedy sketch, and guests. This CD has two complete programs. The first half features Louis Armstrong and His Big Band with "Satch" taking fine solos on "Coquette," "Shine," "Lazy River," and "One O'Clock Jump." Lena Horne (backed by an unidentified combo) sings "Someday Sweetheart" and "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," while the four-voice Charioteers are showcased on "Down the Glory Road." The second broadcast has the Benny Carter and His Orchestra performing "Riff Romp," "Why Don't You Do Right," "Ill Wind," and "Honeysuckle Rose." Herb Jeffries sings "Jump for Joy" and "As Time Goes By," pianist Phil Moore plays "Sweet Patootie," and there is an OK comedy routine by Mantan Moreland and Ben Carter (no relation to Benny Carter). Overall, there are enough moments of interest on this CD, even with some filler, to interest swing and Louis Armstrong fans.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:17
2 3:24
3 2:10
4 3:13
6 4:54
7 3:25
8 5:05
9 1:24
10 1:16
11 3:49
12 1:59
13 2:19
14 3:36
feat: Phil Moore
17 3:30
18 3:11
19 1:44
blue highlight denotes track pick