John Allmark

The John Allmark Jazz Orchestra Featuring Clay Osborne

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This set by the Rhode Island-based John Allmark Jazz Orchestra features vocals by Clay Osborne. With the exception of "Shopping Mall Blues" and "Moody Street," the music is comprised of standards and not many surprises occur, but Osborne has a strong voice and a swinging style. The Allmark big band, while lacking any big names (best known are trombonist Rick Stepton and bassist Marshall Wood), is excellent, quite musical and exciting when called for. Trumpeter Allmark is the main soloist, but other players get their spots too. Highlights include "Bye Bye Blackbird," "There Is No Greater Love," "Just One of Those Things," and "I Love You."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:15 Spotify
2 6:44 Spotify
3 4:41 Spotify
4 5:27 Spotify
5 3:43 Spotify
6 6:01 Spotify
7 3:16 Spotify
8 4:37 Spotify
9 3:37 Spotify
10 5:37 Spotify
5:01 Spotify
12 4:55 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick