Various Artists

The Humphrey Bogart Era

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Tim Sendra

The idea behind this CD is to compile songs that were popular at the same time Bogey was -- the mid-'40s to the early '50s. The track listing reads like a roll call of all the great jazz artists of the day, like Nat King Cole, Dizzy Gillespie, Tommy Dorsey, and Count Basie, as well as a pretty solid lineup of crooners, like Bing Crosby and Dinah Shore. Most of the tracks, like Jo Stafford's "Manhattan Serenade," are smoky and made for late-night listening, preferably with a martini in one hand and a dark, mysterious stranger in the other. The producers of the disc also do a good job of capturing the melancholy that is a vital part of Bogart's persona with tracks like Billie Holiday's "I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance With You" and Lena Horne's "Ill Wind." This fine CD is made even better with the addition of a bonus DVD featuring one of Bogart's less-famous yet very interesting films, Beat the Devil, and an episode of The Jack Benny Show in which Bogart parodies his tough-guy screen image. Highly recommended.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Turner Layton 03:18 Amazon
2 Jimmy Dorsey & His Orchestra 04:16 Amazon
3 Miles Davis / Charlie Parker 03:06 Amazon
4 Ella Fitzgerald 02:38 Amazon
5 Buddy Rich & His Orchestra 04:10 Amazon
6 Bing Crosby 03:33 Amazon
7 Dizzy Gillespie 02:51 Amazon
8 Lena Horne 02:34 Amazon
9 Django Reinhardt 03:12 Amazon
10 Nat King Cole 03:10 Amazon
11 Tommy Dorsey 03:05 Amazon
12 Billie Holiday 03:26 Amazon
13 Count Basie Orchestra 03:11 Amazon
14 Dinah Washington 02:44 Amazon
15 Jo Stafford 03:22 Amazon
16 Artie Shaw & His Orchestra 03:18 Amazon
17 Dinah Shore 02:57 Amazon
18 Harry James & His Orchestra 03:01 Amazon
19 The Blue Dahlia 04:19 Amazon
20 Louis Armstrong 03:39 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
blue highlight denotes track pick