Dan Reed / Dan Reed Network

The Heat

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Since the 1980s, the Dan Reed Network has offered an arresting style of guitar-powered rock with strong soul and funk influences. But unfortunately, the integrated band has -- for whatever reason -- fallen through the cracks. Why the Network has remained obscure is open to debate. Perhaps it never had the right promotion. Some would argue that being hard to pigeonhole was a liability, but then, bands ranging from Living Colour to the Red Hot Chili Peppers fused rock and funk with very marketable results. At any rate, The Heat illustrates Reed's adventurous spirit and his knack for substantive lyrics. On sociopolitical offerings like "Thy Will Be Done," "The Lonely Sun" and "Mix It Up," Reed candidly addresses such issues as racism, inequality and political corruption without caving in to cynicism. Although angry, Reed is also thoughtful. This CD wasn't the breakthrough his followers were hoping for, but it certainly wasn't because of a shortage of inspired material.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:07 SpotifyAmazon
2 4:32 SpotifyAmazon
3 4:39 SpotifyAmazon
4 4:17 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:46 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:30 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:59 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:36 SpotifyAmazon
9 4:30 SpotifyAmazon
10 5:01 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:35 SpotifyAmazon
12 4:06 SpotifyAmazon
13 4:47 SpotifyAmazon
14 4:19 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:32 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick