Various Artists

The Gals Who Made the Big Band Swing

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Gals Who Made the Big Band Swing presents just that, a collection of big-band, swing, and vocal jazz chanteuses who helped define these styles, including Martha Tilton, Jo Stafford, Betty Clooney, and Marion Hutton. The album's major contributors are among some of vocal jazz's finest performers. June Christy's selections range from the cool ballad "A Hundred Years from Today" to livelier, breezier numbers such as "How High the Moon" and "Lullaby in Rhythm," while Anita O'Day's "Opus One" and "All Reet" maintain her reputation as one of the era's sassiest vocalists. Conversely, Rosemary Clooney's "Sleepy Time Gal" and "I Get Along Without You Very Well" are more restrained than the playful pop hits she recorded in the '50s. Lena Horne's "My Silent Love" and "Haunted Town" lend the collection a slinky glamour that is reinforced by Peggy Lee's "You and I Passing By" and Billie Holiday's "Maybe You'll Be There." While the sound quality on some of these tracks isn't the clearest, The Gals Who Made the Big Band Swing is still a fairly broad and deep collection of swing and big-band divas, and worthwhile for both fans of these styles and newcomers to them.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:21
2 4:16
3 3:17
4 1:47
6 2:32
8 3:29
9 3:29
10 3:22
11 2:44
12 2:34
14 2:59
15 1:46
16 2:34
17 3:10
19 2:58
20 3:13
21 3:13
blue highlight denotes track pick