The Funk Box

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Funk Box Review

by Steve Huey

At four discs and 55 tracks, Hip-O's Funk Box seems to want to be the last word on funk, and while it's a pretty good set, it ends up more representative than definitive of its chosen genre. Virtually all of funk's most important artists are featured, but not always by their most significant singles -- sometimes the collection gets it right, and sometimes it's disappointing (leaving out Curtis Mayfield's "Superfly," the Average White Band's "Pick Up the Pieces," War's "Low Rider" and "Why Can't We Be Friends," and the Ohio Players' "Fire" and "Love Rollercoaster" in favor of alternate selections). Still, the Funk Box does have a generous helping of full-length funk classics, including several rare 12" versions; moreover, it's been digitally remastered, and it features a 48-page booklet. It's just too bad the set doesn't completely hit the mark.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Curtis Mayfield 03:37 SpotifyAmazon
2 Brian Jackson / Gil Scott-Heron 05:07 SpotifyAmazon
3 Tower of Power 05:06 SpotifyAmazon
4 James Brown 07:40 SpotifyAmazon
5 The O'Jays 07:19 SpotifyAmazon
6 Kool & the Gang 04:37 SpotifyAmazon
7 Rufus & Chaka Khan 04:39 SpotifyAmazon
8 The Blackbyrds 05:27 SpotifyAmazon
9 B.T. Express 05:54 SpotifyAmazon
10 The Meters 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
11 Ohio Players 07:56 SpotifyAmazon
12 George McCrae 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
13 The Temptations 04:04 SpotifyAmazon
14 Average White Band 04:58 SpotifyAmazon
15 Jermaine Jackson 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick