Various Artists

The First Crush Compilation

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The First Crush Compilation, which initially saw the light of day in 1998 with only three pressings, spawned a stellar hybrid of some of the greatest punk/emo/hardcore acts to emerge over the past decade. Emo nearly became a part of the mainstream in the new millennium with the chart success of Jimmy Eat World and the critical acclaim of At the Drive-In, so a reissue of The First Crush Compilation is appropriate. It's a collection of rare tracks and hard-to-find treasures that pop kids will cling to while sifting through personal childhood moments and/or musical experiences of the acts featured on the album. Hardcore punk fever rages against the machine from the likes of Thoughts of Ionesco ("Upward, Inward & Under"), I Hate Myself ("This Isn't the Tenka-Inchi-Buddokai"), and Yellow Road Priest ("Song #7"), while Stalag Seventeen ("Lack of a Better Word") and Sore Loser ("Nodding Off") churn with emo-pop appeal. Additional standout cuts by Pop Unknown, Mineral, Beast, and Airport Architect bring together the intense allure of what made these musical underground communities so great.

blue highlight denotes track pick