Frank Sinatra & Tommy Dorsey

The Fabulous Frank Sinatra and Tommy Dorsey

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Fabulous Frank Sinatra and Tommy Dorsey is part of RCA's 1999 Fabulous series, which compiles hits and highlights from the RCA recordings of famous swing and big-band artists, like Sinatra and Dorsey. For collectors, there's nothing new here, but it's a good basic collection of strong readings of such classics as "There Are Such Things," "Stardust," "The Song Is You," "Fools Rush In," "Night and Day," "Let's Get Away from It All," and "I'll Be Seeing You." There are hits missing, of course, but for casual listeners looking for an entertaining roundup of some of Sinatra and Dorsey's finest swing cuts -- including some numbers, such as "The Lamplighter's Serenade" and "Polka Dots and Moonbeams," that aren't usually thought of as standards these days, yet certainly bring back the era -- this works nicely.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:42
2 3:10
3 3:23
4 2:54
5 3:03
6 3:10
7 3:18
8 2:41
9 3:03
10 3:30
11 3:02
12 2:31
13 2:43
14 4:52
15 3:05
blue highlight denotes track pick