The Essential

Bobby Darin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Essential Review

by Tim Sendra

Anyone looking for a truly essential Bobby Darin single-disc set will have a tough go of it, as there isn't one on the market that covers both his stays at Atlantic and his brief tenure with Capitol. This disc collects Darin's work for Capitol between 1962 and 1965, a time in which Darin was mostly doing nightclub pop standards like "Moon River," "On the Street Where You Live," and "Call Me Irresponsible." He also made a short foray into Ray Charles-style country-pop, as evidenced by orchestrated versions of "From a Jack to a King," "Release Me," and "Eighteen Yellow Roses." These songs are less successful than the more swinging pop tunes like the wild "Hello, Dolly!" or the smoky take on "Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words)," but the whole disc shows that Darin's stay with Capitol was not really a high point in his career artistically or commercially. The Essential Bobby Darin is less successful than it could have been, too: It inexplicably leaves off Darin's only real hit from this period, "You're the Reason I'm Living," which hit number three on the pop charts in 1963. However, it remains a decent, though nowhere near essential, collection of Darin's smooth pop crooner side. [Consumer alert: This disc was previously released as Bobby Darin Sings the Standards in 2001 by EMI.]

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Bobby Darin 02:07 Amazon
2 Bobby Darin 01:53 Amazon
3 Bobby Darin 01:56 Amazon
4 Bobby Darin 02:53 Amazon
5 Bobby Darin 02:11 Amazon
6 Bobby Darin 01:47 Amazon
7 Bobby Darin 02:31 Amazon
8 Bobby Darin 03:13 Amazon
9 Bobby Darin 02:15 Amazon
10 Bobby Darin 02:59 Amazon
11 Bobby Darin 02:40 Amazon
12 Bobby Darin 02:49 Amazon
13 Bobby Darin 02:35 Amazon
14 Bobby Darin 02:07 Amazon
15 Bobby Darin 02:07 Amazon
16 Bobby Darin 02:33 Amazon
17 Bobby Darin 02:22 Amazon
18 Bobby Darin 02:47 Amazon
19 Bobby Darin 02:53 Amazon
20 Bobby Darin 03:09 Amazon
21 Bobby Darin 02:48 Amazon
22 Bobby Darin 02:55 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick