The Essential Floyd Cramer

Floyd Cramer

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Essential Floyd Cramer Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Although it isn't necessarily a definitive retrospective, Essential is the best CD compilation of Floyd Cramer's solo recordings yet assembled. Containing 20 tracks, including his hits "Last Date," "San Antonio Rose" and "Stood Up," the disc captures Cramer's signature stride piano style in all of its glory on a variety of country, pop and R&B numbers. Cramer was as well-known as a sideman as he was a solo artist, and even if Essential contains none of his session work, it contains a good portion of his very best recordings, making it a fine introduction to one of the most influential pianists in country and pop history.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Floyd Cramer 02:27 Amazon
2 Floyd Cramer 02:16 SpotifyAmazon
3 Floyd Cramer 02:08 SpotifyAmazon
4 Floyd Cramer 02:19 SpotifyAmazon
5 Floyd Cramer 02:14 SpotifyAmazon
6 Floyd Cramer 02:25 SpotifyAmazon
7 Floyd Cramer 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
8 Floyd Cramer 02:27 SpotifyAmazon
9 Floyd Cramer 02:37 SpotifyAmazon
10 Floyd Cramer 02:06 SpotifyAmazon
11 Floyd Cramer 03:45 SpotifyAmazon
12 Floyd Cramer 02:05 SpotifyAmazon
13 Floyd Cramer 02:03 SpotifyAmazon
14 Floyd Cramer 02:03 SpotifyAmazon
15 Floyd Cramer 02:01 SpotifyAmazon
16 Floyd Cramer 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
17 Floyd Cramer 02:13 SpotifyAmazon
18 Floyd Cramer 02:05 SpotifyAmazon
19 Floyd Cramer 02:05 SpotifyAmazon
20 Floyd Cramer 02:51 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick